Draw what you see: some advice for artists

Draw what you see. It's often easier said than done. I used to find drawing my cat frustrating because he is so goddamn cute and I could never seem to get him 'right'. If I could give one piece of advice it would be loosen up and try something new, to stop you trying too hard. I did this with @continuousundays over on Instagram, focusing on creating a subject with one line: forcing myself to pick out the bits that were important to make the drawing look like the subject. And it has improved my regular drawing no end. This piece isn't perfect, or uber realistic but it's literally 2 minutes and has picked up the feeling of what I wanted to put across. Go on, try something out of your comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

