Working my weaknesses

As you all know by now charcoal is my first love. However after finishing one charcoal piece today I decided to try and work my weaknesses. Namely, watercolour. I recently bought a watercolour pencil/inktense pencil/block set and I thought I would take it for a spin. 

I have been sketching birds for a while now so they seemed like the perfect subject. I chose bluetits because of their striking colouration. 

After sketching the bird with an outlining pencil I went to work, and these are the results!

I am more pleased with these than you will know. I know that they are a little rough around the edges, but for the first time with watercolour I felt totally in control! Whoop!

3 thoughts on “Working my weaknesses

Leave a Reply

